AMNH Library Digital Repository
The AMNH Library Digital Repository is an archive maintained by the Research Library for AMNH Scientific Publications, AMNH scholarly output and other original and published materials digitized by the Library. All information in the repository is freely accessible to scholars around the world to support their research.
Communities
Select a community to browse its collections.
- Contains scientific data and/or field notes and other digitized material from the Division of Anthropology.
- Contains scientific data and other digitized material from the Department of Astrophysics.
- Contains scientific data and/or field notes and other digitized material from the Center of Biodiversity and Conservation.
- Contains scientific data and/or field notes and other digitized material from the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences.
- Contains scientific data and/or field notes and other digitized material from the Department of Herpetology.
- Contains scientific data and/or field notes and other digitized material from the Department of Mammalogy.
- Contains scientific data and/or field notes and other digitized material from the Department of Ornithology.
- Contains scientific data and/or field notes and other digitized material from the Division of Paleontology
- Contains digitized Museum publications, Annual Reports, and archives from the Research Library.
- Contains dissertations from the Richard Gilder Graduate School.
- Contains: American Museum Novitates, Anthropological Papers of the American Museum of Natural History, Bulletin of the American Museum of Natural History, and Memoirs of the American Museum of Natural History, as well as, related Supplemental Material.
Recent Submissions
A new extinct species of Malagodon (Cyprinodontiformes: Pantanodontidae) from southeastern coastal Madagascar : with a discussion of its phylogenetic relationships and a redescription of the genus (American Museum novitates, no. 4012)
(American Museum of Natural History., 2024-04-24) Carr, Emily M.; Martin, Rene P.; Sparks, John S.
A new species belonging to the recently described genus Malagodon Meinema and Huber, 2023, is herein described from specimens collected in a single, small, isolated Pandanas swamp in southeastern coastal Madagascar, located within the Réserve Spéciale de Manombo, south of the town of Farafangana, its only known locality. The new species was last collected in the late 1990s, and despite repeated attempts over the past three decades, no additional specimens have been collected at the type locality or from any other suitable habitats within the region, and the species is presumed to be extinct. The new species is distinguished from its only congener, Malagodon madagascariensis, formerly known from forested swamps in northeastern coastal Madagascar, and also now considered to be extinct, by the following apomorphic features: a lower anal-fin ray count (15–17 vs. 18–19), a longer caudal peduncle (26.8%–39.8% vs. 21.9%–26.7% SL), and the presence of a platelike (vs. thin and spinelike) neural spine on the fifth vertebral centrum in both sexes. Additionally, the new species exhibits neural spines on both the sixth and seventh vertebral centra that are also somewhat expanded and platelike dorsally compared with those in M. madagascariensis, which are narrow and spinelike. We also provide a rediagnosis of Malagodon based on the examination of additional material unavailable in the original description, which was based on only three specimens (two males of M. madagascariensis and one female of the new species).
Mammalian diversity and Matses ethnomammalogy in Amazonian Peru. Part 5, Rodents. (Bulletin of the American Museum of Natural History, no. 466)
(American Museum of Natural History., 2024-04-18) Voss, Robert S.; Fleck, David W. (David William), 1969-; Giarla, Thomas C.
In this report, the fifth and last of our monographic series on mammalian diversity and ethnomammalogy in the Yavarí-Ucayali interfluvial region of northeastern Peru, we document the local occurrence of 40 species of rodents, including 5 sciurids, 17 cricetids, 1 caviid, 1 cuniculid, 2 dasyproctids, 1 dinomyid, 2 erethizontids, and 11 echimyids. The following substantive taxonomic results, among others, are reported: (1) We discuss current issues of sciurid classification and treat all New World tree squirrels (Sciurini), except North American Tamiasciurus, as members of the genus Sciurus; the proposed subgeneric classification is monophyletic, and it conserves longstanding binomial usage for most species. (2) We describe a new species of squirrel, Sciurus (Hadrosciurus) pachecoi, which had previously been identified as a distinct lineage by molecular analyses. (3) We discuss the nominal taxa currently synonymized with S. (H.) pyrrhinus and comment on the application of names to phenotypes and mitochondrial haplogroups. (4) The currently accepted type locality of S. (H.) spadiceus (Cuiabá) cannot be correct; instead, documentary evidence suggests that the holotype must have been collected near Santarém. (5) Sciurus flaviventer appears to be the only valid species of Microsciurus (sensu lato) that occurs in the Amazonian lowlands; Amazonian records of taxa previously reported in the literature as M. sabanillae and M. "species 2" appear to be based on erroneous geographic coordinates and unexplained genotype/ phenotype discordance, respectively. (6) We discuss and illustrate the diagnostic morphological characters of Nectomys apicalis and N. rattus, which have broadly overlapping distributions in northern Peru. (7) We analyze cytochrome b sequence data from 143 specimens of Oecomys from western Amazonia and summarize evidence for multiple unnamed lineages; of these, three from the Yavarí-Ucayali interfluve are described as new species. (8) We question the recognition of O. tapajinus as a species distinct from O. roberti due to the lack of unambiguously diagnostic characters and the doubtful identity of the holotype of tapajinus. (9) We confirm sympatry between two species of Scolomys and provide revised diagnostic criteria for S. melanops and S. ucayalensis. (10) We report the only specimen of Dinomys branickii accompanied by definite locality data from Loreto department. (11) Proechimys quadruplicatus and P. steerei, closely related species previously thought to occur on opposite banks of the Peruvian Amazon, are both present in the Yavarí-Ucayali interfluve; diagnostic characters are tabulated for the six species of Proechimys now known to occur in our region. Despite intensive and methodologically complementary faunal-sampling efforts, our rodent inventory is probably incomplete; at least four additional species could be expected to occur in our region based on geographic range data. If all four do occur there, then our inventory is about 90% complete. Documented sympatric species richness at intensively sampled sites in our region is substantially less than the regional total, but because of methodological omissions, no site is believed to have been completely inventoried for rodents. In the absence of known barriers to mammalian dispersal within the Yavarí-Ucayali interfluve, however, local (sympatric) species richness is probably constrained only by habitat availability. Matses knowledge of rodents is richly detailed for primary game species (Cuniculus paca and Dasyprocta fuliginosa) but is less detailed for less culturally important subsets of the fauna. As previously documented for other mammals (e.g., primates, xenarthrans, and ungulates), important game species are known by multiple names (including synonyms and hyponyms), whereas less culturally important but still salient species (e.g., squirrels) have single names, and many inconspicuous (e.g., small, nocturnal, and morphologically indistinguishable) species do not have unique identifiers. With the rodents treated in this report, the mammalian fauna of the Yavarí-Ucayali interfluve is now known to include at least 201 species, but >20 additional species (mostly bats) could still be expected in the region based on geographic range data. Despite the probable incompleteness of our inventory, the Yavarí-Ucayali interfluve is the only part of western Amazonia with an extensively documented mammal fauna. Therefore, the completion of this monographic series provides nomic resource for urgently needed mammalogical research in this ecologically intact but increasingly vulnerable region.
Phylogeny of the Troglomorphic scorpion genus Troglotayosicus (Scorpiones: Troglotayosicidae) : with description of a new species from Colombia (American Museum novitates, no. 4011)
(American Museum of Natural History., 2024-04-12) Moreno-González, Jairo A.; Luna-Sarmiento, David A.; Prendini, Lorenzo.
The troglomorphic scorpion genus Troglotayosicus Lourenço, 1981, occurs in hypogean and epigean habitats in the Andean and Amazonian rainforests of Colombia and Ecuador. The phylogenetic relationships among the species of Troglotayosicus are currently unknown. In the present contribution, a new species, Troglotayosicus akaido, sp. nov., is described from specimens collected in the leaf litter of a primary rainforest in the Colombian Amazon, near the border with Peru, raising the number of species in the genus to seven. The new species represents the easternmost record of the genus and further extends its distribution into the Amazon. Its phylogenetic position was tested in an analysis of all species of the genus and two outgroup taxa, scored for 131 morphological characters (16 new and 115 legacy; 104 binary and 27 multistate) analyzed with maximum likelihood under the MK model. Troglotayosicus was recovered as monophyletic and composed of two main clades. The morphological survey revealed that the ventral macrosetae of the leg telotarsi of the type species, Troglotayosicus vachoni Lourenço, 1981, are simple, subspiniform macrosetae, irregularly distributed, but not arranged into clusters nor forming elongated clusters of setae/spinules, as previously suggested. A distribution map and key to the identification of the species of Troglotayosicus are provided. Further research, incorporating molecular data, is needed to understand the evolution and biogeographical history of this enigmatic scorpion genus.
Supplemental data for the paper "Massive Star Cluster Formation I. High Star Formation Efficiency While Resolving Feedback of Individual Stars"
(2023-12) Polak, Brooke; Mac Low, Mordecai-Mark; Klessen, Ralf S.; Teh, Jia Wei; Cournoyer-Cloutier, Claude; Andersson, Eric P.; Appel, Sabrina M.; Tran, Aaron; Lewis, Sean C.; Wilhelm, Maite J. C.; Zwart, Simon Portegies; Glover, Simon C. O.; Wang, Long; McMillan, Stephen L. W.
This repository contains supporting data for the paper "“Massive Star Cluster Formation I. High Star Formation Efficiency While Resolving Feedback of Individual Stars.” Polak, B., Mac Low, M.-M., Klessen, R. S., Portegies Zwart, S., Cournoyer-Cloutier, C., Teh, J. W., Andersson, E. P., Appel, S. M., Tran, A., Wilhelm, M. J. C., Glover, S. C. O., Wang, L., McMillan, S. L. W. 2023, Astron. Astrophys., submitted.
Datasets for "Resistively controlled primordial magnetic turbulence decay"
(2024-03-19) Brandenburg, Axel; Neronov, Andrii; Vazza, Franco
This repository contains simulation data from the paper "Resistively controlled primordial magnetic turbulence decay" by A. Brandenburg, A. Neronov, & F. Vazza (2024, Astron. Astrophys., in press, arXiv:2401.08569).