This guide is designed to support your coursework in ST 529/529D Research and Documentation. Through this guide, you will learn about databases, books, other online sources, recommended research strategies, and APA style in preparation for your independent study or thesis.
Skeen Library has many resources available for your research. Your librarian, Sarah Obenauf, is happy to arrange research consultations (face-to-face or online) if you have trouble finding what you need (or just need to talk your process through with someone). Don't hesitate to contact her with questions or resource recommendations either! You can find her contact information (including the link to schedule a meeting) on the left-hand side of this page.
This guide is intended for students in the MST program focusing on the following areas:
As a K-12 teacher, you may focus on one or more of these areas. When beginning your research, the databases below are good places to start. You will find additional resources by clicking the tabs on the left.
This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Elsevier ScienceDirect allows searching of articles from hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Full-text display is available for most journals and for a few of the books and reference works.