Joseph R. Skeen Library : Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences: Other Resources and Useful Tools

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore contains scientific and technical content published by the IEEE and its publishing partners. It provides web access to many full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Materials Science & Engineering Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science & Engineering Database provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. The Copper Technical Reference Library and the renowned METADEX database are also included.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information provides comprehensive access to the results of DOE research and development investments. OSTI is implementing public access to the peer-reviewed scholarly publications resulting from DOE R&D funding.
Web of Conferences This link opens in a new window
Web of Conferences is an open access platform fully devoted to scientific conferences. It provides a safe long-term record of events, and offers effective solutions for the publishing, dissemination and indexation of conference papers. It gives maximum exposure to proceedings in order to enhance the visibility and to increase the citations of the articles.

EarthARXiv This link opens in a new window
EarthArXiv is an open-access preprint system for the Earth Sciences. The peer-review process takes time, and during that time scientists use preprint systems to share their work with their peers. Preprints are citable and shareable immediately after submission. Many authors have found that sharing a preprint maintains enthusiasm about the research and leads to helpful feedback, which makes the ultimate submission to a peer-reviewed journal better. The early and continued attention also has another payoff: Preprints that do end up in journals appear to be cited more quickly.
Preprints.org This link opens in a new window
Open access platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs available, including original research articles and reviews. Content on Preprints.org is not yet peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers. Updated versions of manuscripts can be uploaded by authors at any time. All areas of academic research are represented.

Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) provides comprehensive listings for doctoral theses from over 100 institutions in the United Kingdom, dating back to the 17th century. Many theses are available in PDF full text, and it is possible to request that those not already available be digitized (fees apply).
Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Union Catalog contains more than four million records of electronic theses and dissertations from the early 1900s to the present.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 4.5 million theses and dissertations.
Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Theses Canada is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and nearly 70 universities accredited by Universities Canada. It strives to: acquire and preserve theses and dissertations from participating universities; provide free access to Canadian electronic theses and dissertations in the collection; facilitate access to non-digital theses and dissertations in the collection. Note: Library and Archives Canada has temporarily suspended thesis harvesting from university institutional repositories in order for technological improvements to be made to its systems. Users of the Theses Canada Portal will be notified when harvesting recommences.

Bibliography of New Mexico Geologic Publications This link opens in a new window
Hosted by NM Tech, the Geologic Information Center at the New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources (NMBGMR) maintains a bibliography of New Mexico geology, which contains all the information in the 12 published bibliographies of New Mexico through to 1987. Bibliographic data from 1988 onwards has been compiled directly into this database.
Canadian Science Publishing This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals such as Canadian Journal of Microbiology, Canadian Journal of Physics, Canadian Journal of Soil Science, and more.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
HighWire Press Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Offers some free articles in biological, physical and social sciences and medicine.
National Geographic PDF Quads This link opens in a new window
National Geographic has built an easy to use web interface that allows anyone to quickly find any 7.5 minute topographic map in the continental U.S.A. for downloading and printing.
National Geologic Map Database This link opens in a new window
The National Geologic Map Database Project (NGMDB) contains information regarding the development of methods and standards intended to address a fundamental requirement of the NGMDB's authorizing legislation, the Geologic Mapping Act of 1992.
ROAD: Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources This link opens in a new window
ROAD, the Directory of Open Access scholarly Resources, is a service offered by the ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) International Centre with the support of the Communication and Information Sector of UNESCO. ROAD provides a single access point to different types of online scholarly resources published worldwide and freely available.
USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new window
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 150,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau. This includes official publications such as USGS-authored journal articles, series reports, book chapters, other government publications, and conference proceedings.

LibKey Nomad is a browser add-on that facilitates access to articles available from Skeen Library subscriptions without needing to go to the library website. And because it is a browser tool, you will know if an article is available before you have to log in to your library account. LibKey Nomad is currently available for Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Vivaldi, and Brave internet browsers.

LibKey Nomad Chrome Browser Extension

Click the link above, then follow the steps below to add LibKey Nomad to your Chrome browser:

Follow these steps for adding LibKey Nomad to your Edge browser:

You will need to allow extensions from other stores:

Once LibKey Nomad is installed, you will be prompted to select an institution. You can type "new mexico" in the box to get a short list quickly. Click on New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology to complete the process.

Once that's done, you should see a screen like the one below:

When you land on a page with an article that is available to download, you get a banner alert at the bottom of your screen. Click to download the PDF. If you are off-campus, you will be routed through the proxy server to authenticate as an authorized user.

LibKey Nomad will connect you to Skeen Library's discovery platform when you land on a page where we don't have current access. In this example from British Journal of Anaesthesia, Skeen Library does not have access and clicking "Access Options" will give you the option of submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.

What is LibKey.io?

LibKey.io makes it incredibly easy to find and retrieve items with DOI or PMID identifiers.

Simply put in a DOI or PMID into the search bar and LibKey.io will very quickly present format options (PDF or Article Link or both) for that particular item. Using LibKey.io allows researchers to focus on content rather than worrying about choosing databases or navigating publisher pages.

Some other unique highlights of the result page:

A - You know that you are linked up to NMT's holdings
B - Easy ability to lookup another article immediately directly from libkey.io
C - Automatically remember format choice - A great option if you want to go directly to the PDF or Article Link whenever possible for the next 24 hours. You can check this box before choosing a format option and LibKey will remember the choice in your browser. This produces a lightening fast resolution to full text!
D - Discover More - Many articles can also be viewed in their originally published context via BrowZine and this one-click link option will appear in those cases so you can see get a holistic view of the article and the publication.
E - Trouble? If links aren't resolving right it may be helpful to check the link resolver for all access options. Clicking here will show all available sources via your link resolver.

Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences

Look up a journal article by DOI or PMID