Joseph R. Skeen Library : Department of Business and Technology Management: Other Resources and Useful Tools

United States International Trade Commission (USITC) Harmonized Tariff Schedule This link opens in a new window
This database is for use in Classification of Imported Merchandise for Rate of Duty and Statistical Purposes. Available documents date back to 1989.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office This link opens in a new window
The database consists includes information about all US patents (including utility, design, reissue, plant patents and SIR documents) from the first patent issued in 1790 to the most recent issue week.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal Depository Library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information. Click on the title of interest from your search results list. Then click on the Locate in a Library link within the displayed record.

Also try our federated search engine MetaLib to retrieve reports, articles and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) This link opens in a new window
The DTIC provides the general public and industry with access to unclassified, unlimited information, including many full-text downloadable documents.

Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Google Patents is a search engine from Google that indexes more than 87 million patents and patent applications with full text from 17 patent offices.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Broader access to these data allow policymakers and advocacy groups to make better-informed decisions and measure improvements more accurately. They are also valuable tools to support research by journalists, academia and others, broadening understanding of global issues.
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

LibKey Nomad is a browser add-on that facilitates access to articles available from Skeen Library subscriptions without needing to go to the library website. And because it is a browser tool, you will know if an article is available before you have to log in to your library account. LibKey Nomad is currently available for Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Vivaldi, and Brave internet browsers.

LibKey Nomad Chrome Browser Extension

Click the link above, then follow the steps below to add LibKey Nomad to your Chrome browser:

Follow these steps for adding LibKey Nomad to your Edge browser:

You will need to allow extensions from other stores:

Once LibKey Nomad is installed, you will be prompted to select an institution. You can type "new mexico" in the box to get a short list quickly. Click on New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology to complete the process.

Once that's done, you should see a screen like the one below:

When you land on a page with an article that is available to download, you get a banner alert at the bottom of your screen. Click to download the PDF. If you are off-campus, you will be routed through the proxy server to authenticate as an authorized user.

LibKey Nomad will connect you to Skeen Library's discovery platform when you land on a page where we don't have current access. In this example from British Journal of Anaesthesia, Skeen Library does not have access and clicking "Access Options" will give you the option of submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.

What is LibKey.io?

LibKey.io makes it incredibly easy to find and retrieve items with DOI or PMID identifiers.

Simply put in a DOI or PMID into the search bar and LibKey.io will very quickly present format options (PDF or Article Link or both) for that particular item. Using LibKey.io allows researchers to focus on content rather than worrying about choosing databases or navigating publisher pages.

Some other unique highlights of the result page:

A - You know that you are linked up to NMT's holdings
B - Easy ability to lookup another article immediately directly from libkey.io
C - Automatically remember format choice - A great option if you want to go directly to the PDF or Article Link whenever possible for the next 24 hours. You can check this box before choosing a format option and LibKey will remember the choice in your browser. This produces a lightening fast resolution to full text!
D - Discover More - Many articles can also be viewed in their originally published context via BrowZine and this one-click link option will appear in those cases so you can see get a holistic view of the article and the publication.
E - Trouble? If links aren't resolving right it may be helpful to check the link resolver for all access options. Clicking here will show all available sources via your link resolver.

Department of Business and Technology Management

A-Z Database Box

Look up a journal article by DOI or PMID