Joseph R. Skeen Library : Department of Civil Engineering: Other Resources and Useful Tools

American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Conference Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of papers presented at the ASEE annual conference.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore contains scientific and technical content published by the IEEE and its publishing partners. It provides web access to many full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information provides comprehensive access to the results of DOE research and development investments. OSTI is implementing public access to the peer-reviewed scholarly publications resulting from DOE R&D funding.
Web of Conferences This link opens in a new window
Web of Conferences is an open access platform fully devoted to scientific conferences. It provides a safe long-term record of events, and offers effective solutions for the publishing, dissemination and indexation of conference papers. It gives maximum exposure to proceedings in order to enhance the visibility and to increase the citations of the articles.

engrXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Directed by a steering committee of engineers and members of the engineering librarian community, engrXiv is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge to reach more people more effectively, to improve research, and build the future of scholarly communication. Find preprints, working papers, published papers, data, and code on virtually all engineering disciplines.
Preprints.org This link opens in a new window
Open access platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs available, including original research articles and reviews. Content on Preprints.org is not yet peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers. Updated versions of manuscripts can be uploaded by authors at any time. All areas of academic research are represented.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Hosted by Cornell University, arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
ANSI's mission is to enhance both the global competitiveness of U.S. business and the U.S. quality of life by promoting and facilitating voluntary consensus standards and conformity assessment systems, and safeguarding their integrity. Through its members, staff, constituents, partners and advocates, ANSI responds directly to the standardization and conformity assessment interests and needs of consumers, government, companies and organizations.
American Petroleum Institute
API is the only national trade association representing all facets of the natural gas and oil industry, which supports 10.3 million U.S. jobs and nearly 8 percent of the U.S. economy. API’s more than 600 members include large integrated companies, as well as exploration and production, refining, marketing, pipeline, and marine businesses, and service and supply firms. They provide most of the nation’s energy and are backed by a growing grassroots movement of more than 47 million Americans. API was formed in 1919 as a standards-setting organization. In its first 100 years, API has developed more than 700 standards to enhance operational and environmental safety, efficiency and sustainability.
ASTM International
ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Today, over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence. Student membership is free.
British Standards Institute (BSI)
BSI has played a leading role in developing a new generation of standards to help organizations become better governed and more responsible such as anti-bribery, organizational governance and asset management. BSI has also increased collaboration with experts in new fields such as smart cities, nanotechnologies, cell therapy and Building Information Modelling (BIM).
European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC)
CENELEC is the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization and is responsible for standardization in the electrotechnical engineering field. CENELEC prepares voluntary standards, which help facilitate trade between countries, create new markets, cut compliance costs and support the development of a Single European Market. CENELEC creates market access at European level but also at international level, adopting international standards wherever possible, through its close collaboration with the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), under the Frankfurt Agreement.
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
ISO is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 164 national standards bodies. Through its members, it brings together experts to share knowledge and develop voluntary, consensus-based, market relevant International Standards that support innovation and provide solutions to global challenges.
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
Founded in 1906, the IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) is the world’s leading organization for the preparation and publication of International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies. These are known collectively as “electrotechnology”. IEC provides a platform to companies, industries and governments for meeting, discussing and developing the International Standards they require. All IEC International Standards are fully consensus-based and represent the needs of key stakeholders of every nation participating in IEC work. Every member country, no matter how large or small, has one vote and a say in what goes into an IEC International Standard.
International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
The ITU coordinates the shared global use of the radio spectrum, promotes international cooperation in assigning satellite orbits, works to improve telecommunication infrastructure in the developing world, and assists in the development and coordination of worldwide technical standards. The ITU is active in areas including broadband Internet, latest-generation wireless technologies, aeronautical and maritime navigation, radio astronomy, satellite-based meteorology, convergence in fixed-mobile phone, Internet access, data, voice, TV broadcasting, and next-generation networks. The agency also organizes worldwide and regional exhibitions and forums, such as ITU Telecom World, bringing together representatives of government and the telecommunications and ICT industry to exchange ideas, knowledge and technology.
International Engineering Task Force (IETF)
The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is the premier Internet standards body, developing open standards through open processes. The IETF is a large open international community of network designers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) was founded in 1901 and is now part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. NIST is one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. Congress established the agency to remove a major challenge to U.S. industrial competitiveness at the time—a second-rate measurement infrastructure that lagged behind the capabilities of the United Kingdom, Germany, and other economic rivals. From the smart electric power grid and electronic health records to atomic clocks, advanced nanomaterials, and computer chips, innumerable products and services rely in some way on technology, measurement, and standards provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Today, NIST measurements support the smallest of technologies to the largest and most complex of human-made creations—from nanoscale devices so tiny that tens of thousands can fit on the end of a single human hair up to earthquake-resistant skyscrapers and global communication networks.
Organization for the Advancement of Structured Information Standards (OASIS)
OASIS is a nonprofit consortium that drives the development, convergence and adoption of open standards for the global information society. OASIS promotes industry consensus and produces worldwide standards for security, Internet of Things, cloud computing, energy, content technologies, emergency management, and other areas. OASIS open standards offer the potential to lower cost, stimulate innovation, grow global markets, and protect the right of free choice of technology.
Standards Council of Canada (SCC)
The Standards Council of Canada (SCC) is a federal Crown corporation responsible for promoting standardization in Canada. We lead and facilitate the development and use of national and international standards and accreditation services in order to enhance Canada's competitiveness and well-being. Our mission involves working with our stakeholders and customers to promote efficient and effective standardization that strengthens Canada’s competitiveness and social well-being. Everything we do is aimed at improving Canadians’ quality of life.
World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)
The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) is an international community where Member organizations, a full-time staff, and the public work together to develop Web standards. Led by Web inventor and Director Tim Berners-Lee and CEO Jeffrey Jaffe, W3C's mission is to lead the Web to its full potential.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
Publication office of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
Hewlett-Packard journal online
The Hewlett-Packard Journal has been documenting HP's technologies and achievements since 1949. The HP Journal has been available on the World Wide Web since early 1994. Now, the Journal offers more functionality with articles created in Adobe Acrobat and a useful search engine for looking up topics within articles.
Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) Technical Report Server
The JPL Technical Reports Server (TRS) is a repository for digital copies of technical publications authored by JPL employees. It includes preprints, meeting papers, conference presentations, some articles, and other publications cleared for external distribution from 1992 to the present.
Los Alamos Technical Reports and Publications
Provided by the Federation of American Scientists.
Microsoft Research Technical Reports
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Part of “America’s Data Agency,” the U.S. Department of Commerce, the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) helps federal agencies make better decisions about data, with data.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Search technical reports published by the U.S. Department of Commerce.
Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.2 million records of transportation research worldwide.

LibKey Nomad is a browser add-on that facilitates access to articles available from Skeen Library subscriptions without needing to go to the library website. And because it is a browser tool, you will know if an article is available before you have to log in to your library account. LibKey Nomad is currently available for Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Vivaldi, and Brave internet browsers.

LibKey Nomad Chrome Browser Extension

Click the link above, then follow the steps below to add LibKey Nomad to your Chrome browser:

Follow these steps for adding LibKey Nomad to your Edge browser:

You will need to allow extensions from other stores:

Once LibKey Nomad is installed, you will be prompted to select an institution. You can type "new mexico" in the box to get a short list quickly. Click on New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology to complete the process.

Once that's done, you should see a screen like the one below:

When you land on a page with an article that is available to download, you get a banner alert at the bottom of your screen. Click to download the PDF. If you are off-campus, you will be routed through the proxy server to authenticate as an authorized user.

LibKey Nomad will connect you to Skeen Library's discovery platform when you land on a page where we don't have current access. In this example from British Journal of Anaesthesia, Skeen Library does not have access and clicking "Access Options" will give you the option of submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.

What is LibKey.io?

LibKey.io makes it incredibly easy to find and retrieve items with DOI or PMID identifiers.

Simply put in a DOI or PMID into the search bar and LibKey.io will very quickly present format options (PDF or Article Link or both) for that particular item. Using LibKey.io allows researchers to focus on content rather than worrying about choosing databases or navigating publisher pages.

Some other unique highlights of the result page:

A - You know that you are linked up to NMT's holdings
B - Easy ability to lookup another article immediately directly from libkey.io
C - Automatically remember format choice - A great option if you want to go directly to the PDF or Article Link whenever possible for the next 24 hours. You can check this box before choosing a format option and LibKey will remember the choice in your browser. This produces a lightening fast resolution to full text!
D - Discover More - Many articles can also be viewed in their originally published context via BrowZine and this one-click link option will appear in those cases so you can see get a holistic view of the article and the publication.
E - Trouble? If links aren't resolving right it may be helpful to check the link resolver for all access options. Clicking here will show all available sources via your link resolver.

Department of Civil Engineering

AWMA Blog

Look up a journal article by DOI or PMID