The articles found in many scholarly journals go through a peer-review process, meaning that they have been checked by other academics and experts. In other words, the information provided is reliable. In addition to containing scholarly information, journals often include reports or reviews of current research, topic-specific information, and notifications of new publications.
Popular articles, usually found online or in magazines, are often written by a journalist or professional writer for a general audience. They tend to be shorter than scholarly journal articles and rarely give full citations of their source. Popular articles from magazines are helpful if you want background information on a topic that is new to you or very current information.
This database is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers ASCE documents published since January 1970. It provides bibliographic access to all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.
This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
IEEE Xplore contains scientific and technical content published by the IEEE and its publishing partners. It provides web access to many full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Compendex is an engineering literature database with over 20 million indexed records across various engineering disciplines such as civil, chemical, electrical, mechanical, and mining. It also includes these related areas - applied physics (including Optics), bioengineering and biotechnology, food science and technology, materials science, instrumentation (including medical devices), and nanotechnology.
Note: if prompted, select the second option to access the database (New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology - Engineering Village Access, General Access).
Elsevier ScienceDirect allows searching of articles from hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Full-text display is available for most journals and for a few of the books and reference works.