The articles found in many scholarly journals go through a peer-review process, meaning that they have been checked by other academics and experts. In other words, the information provided is reliable. In addition to containing scholarly information, journals often include reports or reviews of current research, topic-specific information, and notifications of new publications.
Popular articles, usually found online or in magazines, are often written by a journalist or professional writer for a general audience. They tend to be shorter than scholarly journal articles and rarely give full citations of their source. Popular articles from magazines are helpful if you want background information on a topic that is new to you or very current information.
The Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
MathSciNet® is an electronic publication of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year.
IEEE Xplore contains scientific and technical content published by the IEEE and its publishing partners. It provides web access to many full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious. Discover, share, and connect valuable ideas! By combining scholarship and primary sources on one platform, JSTOR strengthens the depth and quality of research, sparks innovative connections, and generates unexpected discoveries.
The aim of the AMS-DMR is to provide centralized access to certain collections of digitized publications in the mathematical sciences. The registry is primarily focused on older material from journals and journal-like book series that originally appeared in print but are now available digitally.