You can access Skeen Library's online resources off campus by following the directions here.
This guide is designed to support your coursework in Dr. Chris ChoGlueck's CES/IT/PHIL 382 course (Ethics of Computing and Information Technologies). Through this guide, you will learn about databases, scholarly and popular sources, other online sources, and recommended research strategies in preparation for your written and oral assignments.
Skeen Library has many resources available for your research. Your librarian, Sarah Obenauf, is happy to arrange research consultations (face-to-face or online) if you have trouble finding what you need (or just need to talk your process through with someone). Don't hesitate to contact her with questions or resource recommendations either! You can find her contact information (including the link to schedule a meeting) on the left-hand side of this page.
When beginning your research, the databases below are good places to start. You will find additional resources by clicking the tabs on the left or the links at the bottom of the page.
This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Compendex is an engineering literature database with over 20 million indexed records across various engineering disciplines such as civil, chemical, electrical, mechanical, and mining. It also includes these related areas - applied physics (including Optics), bioengineering and biotechnology, food science and technology, materials science, instrumentation (including medical devices), and nanotechnology.
Note: if prompted, select the second option to access the database (New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology - Engineering Village Access, General Access).
IEEE Xplore contains scientific and technical content published by the IEEE and its publishing partners. It provides web access to many full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Elsevier ScienceDirect allows searching of articles from hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Full-text display is available for most journals and for a few of the books and reference works.